Te Wānanga o Aotearoa Waka Ama Sprint Championships Club Points - Winners 2019

Story Thumb

Congratulations to the Horouta Waka Hoe Club who once again won the prestigious Club Points Trophy.

Since 2011 Nga Kaihoe o Aotearoa (Waka Ama New Zealand) have awarded 2 new trophies. These trophies are perpetual trophies that will be awarded at future nationals and enjoyed by generations of waka ama paddlers.

The Trophies were carved by Matahi Whakataka Brightwell who has been instrumental in the re-birth and growth of the sport of Waka Ama in Aotearoa. Matahi Brightwell, Louise Henderson and Pili Muaulu, all waka ama legends, were on hand to present the trophy. 

The Club points trophy recognises a clubs paddling excellence and achievement throughout the week. Points are accumulated throughout the week from all finals and the club with the most points at the end of the week awarded this honour.

Horouta Waka Hoe has won this trophy 8 times in the passed 9 years! A truly outstanding achievement and one that should not be understated. To reach this level of excellence consistently across nearly all of the age divisions year in and year out is not something that happens by chance. It is through the many thousands of hours of organisation, coaching, managing, fundraising, communicating, more coaching and then some more organising!

This years points:

1st = Horouta - 343 points

2nd = Ruamata - 145 points

3rd = Hei Matau - 141 points


  1. Club Points Summary.pdf
    131 kB

Photo Gallery (click to enlarge)

50274359_2557944527554999_4861437159803977728_o.jpg 50217979_2557945387554913_8017384978650234880_o.jpg 50849862_2557943710888414_1868877073787912192_o.jpg
93,032 paddlers have looked at this page
Updated: Jan 23, 2019